Louis Leterrier wanted Mark Ruffalo for ‘The Incredible Hulk’


Louis Leterrier wanted Mark Rufallo for ‘The Incredible Hulk’ 

Director Louis Leterrier spoke with The Huffington Post  recently and had some fiery things to say about the studios he dealt with making The Incredible Hulk and Clash of the Titans. His conversation was about how pleasant his experience was making his upcoming film Now You See Me in theaters this weekend and lead into his not so pleasant experiences dealing with Marvel and Warner Brothers Studios.

Leterrier said one of the issues with both films was being rushed into filming without even having a script. “The problem on both “The Incredible Hulk” and “Clash of the Titans” is a problem I’ve encountered since I came to Hollywood. When I arrived in Hollywood, [“Incredible Hulk”] was my first Hollywood movie and I really wanted to work with Marvel and I really wanted to do that movie with American actors. And then they were like, “Oh, welcome, welcome. Great news, Louis. We just got a release date. It’s a year from now.” I’m like, “Fantastic, we have to go. Where’s the script?” They said, “Actually, that’s the problem, we don’t have a script.”

On not being able to realize his true vision with The Incredible Hulk Leterrier said “A movie is a sum of compromises until you grow into your own independence. I always try to bring the character and the actor forward. It’s very obvious in “The Incredible Hulk.” The first half of the movie is really mine and the second half is the studio’s expected Hulk movie — two giants kicking each other’s ass.”

He went on to talk about casting issues saying “When people are asking me, because Mark Ruffalo is in this one, who’s the better of the Bruce Banners — both are great; both are fantastic — but I actually wanted to cast Mark Ruffalo as Hulk and Marvel was like “No, you should get Edward Norton because he’s more famous.” So you see what I am saying? They are the ones who wanted Edward — and I was thrilled to meet him and work with him. I wanted Mark Ruffalo. And they were like, “No, no, he just does smart, intellectual movies.”

Leterrier then spoke about making Clash of Titans and the terrible looking 3D that infuriated audiences  duped into paying the extra cash for a post converted 3D that looked awful . “It was a very tough experience. I was literally thrown under the bus for something that … I still have a good relationship with Warner Bros., but at one point it was like, “Yeah, Louis chose the 3D.” And I was like, “No, guys, I didn’t choose the 3D. I actually told you it’s not working. I couldn’t control it. I said don’t do it.” About the rushed process of the film Leterrier said  “It was famously rushed and famously horrible. It was absolutely horrible, the 3D. Nothing was working, it was just a gimmick to steal money from the audience. I’m a good boy and I rolled with the punches and everything, but it’s not my movie. “Clash of the Titans” is not my movie. And ultimately that’s why I didn’t do the sequel.”

There is a bright light at the end of the tunnel however, as Leterrier seemed to be much more pleased with the filming of  Now You See Me saying “But this one, from the beginning, is very much mine. Very, very much mine.” While it’s no surprise that Studios will go to post conversion 3D and sacrifice film quality just to pump a few extra dollars out of film goers hands it is nice to have a voice from the industry confirm how greedy the studios truly are.  Every movie put into post conversion may not be the cause of this but it is quite frustrating to pay extra money for a film only to have the quality be even below standards for the lower ticket price. I have to say I respect Leterrier for speaking his mind and telling the truth.  Whats the worst 3D experience you have had at the theater? Comment below and let us know!

Mike Holtz, WeWatchedAMovie

Leave a Reply

